What a WAHMtastic Day! ♥♥

“The homemaker has the ultimate career. All other careers exist for one purpose only – and that is to support the ultimate career. ” – C.S. Lewis

Image

One of the freebies in the workshop was this tote bag, among many others.

“What workshop is that again?”  “WAHM what?”  Oh, those were the two questions my husband kept on asking me whenever I would tell him about the workshop I was going to attend to.  Up until the day when he was already driving me to the venue where the workshop was going to be held.  Not that he wasn’t interested.  In fact, he is  my cheerleader and the one who constantly encourages and supports me in whatever I do.  But it was just that, he kept  on forgetting the name of the workshop, thus he kept  on asking.  No big deal to me at all. ☺

The workshop I was talking about was  the WAHMderful Life: Real ways to be a WAHM.

“WAHM stands for Work At Home Mom. Just as we also have SAHM for Stay At Home Mom.☺

As explained in the  Manila Workshop’s  page,  “A WAHMderful Life: Real Ways to Be a WAHM is a one-day workshop for moms who want to find their bliss working from home while making a home. This is for stay at home moms, moms who want to start a home-based business, moms interested in working from home via outsourcing or telecommuting, women who are interested in starting an online business … or anyone (single ladies, even dads!) who want to know more about starting a work-from-home career.”

The workshop was organized by Manila Workshops and Dainty Mom.  And it was held at  Studio SnR in Ortigas last January 26, 2013.

The room was packed with 69 participants including 2 Dads. Yes, Dads(why not)!☺   It was a kind of workshop that was both formal and informal. Formal in a sense that we were all provided with name tags, folders (with the program and some notes), Powerpoint  presentation and a Certificate of Attendance. Informal at the same time as the group was lively. We were given a chance to introduce ourselves (though we didn’t finish it because of lack of time). And I had a great time just listening to other moms who shared a little bit of something about  themselves.  And most of them were really  jolly and very spontaneous. Several times, me and my friend (who also was my seatmate), Racquel, would comment as we listen to them, “I like her!” ☺

Image

My notes (and sticky note), copy of the program, my Certificate of Attendance, Indigo Baby’s calling card, and vouchers/flyers from some of the sponsors.

Ginger Arboleda of Manila Workshops,  who also is a certified WAHM,  gave the Welcome Remarks. She organized the workshop well.   I remember her  ushering  me to the room as I arrived (I was one of the first). And her smile and beautiful aura will make you instantly  say, “I am at the right place.”

The talk on Finances by Mr. Gus Cosio was very informative. And also a reminder for us to always save.  Save first, before spending.  And not the other way around.  Honestly, I knew about it. I “somehow” practice it. But it also was good to hear it again and remind myself to practice it more.

INCOME – SAVINGS  = EXPENSE

The talks given by Martine de Luna of Dainty Mom, Marge Aberasturi of The Happy Wahm and Jennifer Tan of The Techie Mom, were all interesting, informative, and fun.

I could very much agree with Martine in all the things she said. One is that to be a WAHM is an intentional decision.  And that women are naturally relational, nurturing beings. And we thrive in community. Thus the WAHM group is a sisterhood. A support group.  It is all about supporting one another in each one’s personal decision.

Her story on how she became a WAHM was very inspiring. Her journey and lessons learned were  worth listening to. The tips she shared I will always remember.

Image

Martine giving the talk on WAHMderful Life: Support Through the WAHM Sisterhood.

Marge and Jennifer gave the talk on Virtual Assistance. Which was one of the Break out Sessions.  I learned a lot from their talk. And I must say that these two are perfect partners. Perfect duo! ☺

Their presentation was truly informative and very helpful.  I now  have a  correct grasp of what a Virtual Assistance is.  And what it takes to be one.  These two know what they are talking about.

Oh, and their ad libs were very entertaining. One of a kind! ☺ I can also relate to some of their everyday activities.  Just like Marge, I also don’t have a help at home. So her stories on how she manages her home and family life, were very much relatable.  I was laughing when she said about the adobo thing because that’s what I do, too!

Jennifer’s lifestyle was also an interesting one. I somehow can relate to her when she shared that her car is practically her office. She works in the car while waiting. In my case, I also do some stuff in the car while waiting for my kids finish their sports training or whatever activity they have. Not the kind of work that Jennifer does though. But that’s when I say my rosary, open and check billing statements, compute, make my to do list, fix our schedule  and sometimes make appointments via text. And most of the time, that’s also when and where I do some “thinking” ☺

Image

We didn’t want to disturb the other participants while somebody was giving a talk. So me and my friend (my seatmate), Racquel, would communicate to each other by writing our questions/comments  using this sticky note. ☺☺☺

Denise Gonzales of Indigo Baby also shared the story behind her online business and how she became a WAHM. An inspirational story most especially to young moms like her.

Image

The WAHMderful moms. Photo courtesy of Ginger of Manila Workshops.

Friends, you and me… you brought another friend… and then there were three… we started our group… our circle of friends… and like that circle… there is no beginning or end.” – Eleanor Roosevelt

I am so glad that I  was given a chance to attend the workshop.  And the workshop didn’t just help me learn about the possible work I can venture into,  but it helped me embrace my chosen career (to be a SAHM) to the fullest.  And maybe, eventually,  a WAHM.

It  is so refreshing and encouraging  to know that there are a lot of Moms whom you share the same vision, the same lifestyle, the same joys, the same struggles, and the same stories with.

The WAHM group is not just a sisterhood. It also is a support group.

And indeed, the workshop wasn’t just WAHMderful.  It was  also WHAMtastic!♥

If you want to know more about the workshop and other upcoming workshops, you may visit Manila Workshop’s and Dainty Mom’s websites here and here. 🙂

This entry was posted in Family Life, Workshops and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What a WAHMtastic Day! ♥♥

  1. Hi Ginnie! Thank you so much for such kind words! 🙂 We are all glad that you learned a lot and enjoyed the workshop. We hope to see you again in our future workshops! 🙂 Good luck to you in creating and fulfilling all your dreams of being a WAHM! 🙂

  2. Patty says:

    Great post. And I so love “WAHMtastic”! 🙂 Hope to see you again at future workshops!

Leave a Reply

